### UNIVERSITY OF MUMBAI



### **Sports Department**

# RESULT OF INTER-COLLEGIATE CHESS (MEN & WOMEN) TOURNAMENT 2017-18

The Inter-Collegiate **Chess** Tournament was conducted on **Five Zones** basis. Total **130** Colleges participated in the **Chess** Tournaments.

- **1) Zone One** was organized at SIWS N. R. Swamy College from 26/07/2017 onwards.
- **2) Zone Two** was organized at K. G. Mittal College from 25/07/2017 onwards
- **3) Zone Three** was organized at S.S.T. College from 27/07/2017 onwards
- **4) Zone Four** was organized at K.L.S.'s Sc. & Comm. College, Kalamboli from 28/07/2017 onwards.
- **5) Zone Five** was organized at Nya. Tatyasaheb Athalye Arts, Ved.S.R.Sapre Commerce & Vid. Dadasaheb Pitre Science College, Devrukh from 29/07/2017 onwards.

## Result for Zone I, II, III, IV & V is as follows,

Zone - I

S	Name of the	Position
N	College	
1	D. G. Ruparel	I
2	V.I.T.	II
3	R. A. Podar	III
4	H. R.	IV

Zone - II

Sr.	Name of the	Position
No.	College	
1	N. M.	I
2	Rajiv Gandhi i.T.	II
3	Thakur Engg.	III
4	S.P.C.E.	IV

Zone - III

Sr	Name of the	Position
No	College	
1	Dnyansadhana	I
2	A. Vartak	II
3	Joshi-Bedekar	III
4	A. P. Shah I.T.	IV

Zone - IV

Sr. No.	Name of the College	Position
1	SIES Nerul	I
2	D.M.C.O.E.	II

Zone - V

Sr No	Name of the College	Position
1	Finolex Mgt. & Tech.	I
2	Gogate Jogalekar	II

Inter-Zonal Inter-Collegiate Chess Tournament among the sixteen colleges teams from zone one, two, three, four and five were conducted at Anna Leela College, Kurla from 1<sup>st</sup> August to 3<sup>rd</sup> August, 2017. The Tournament was inaugurated by the hands of Prof. Prashant Shinde, Inchagre Principal Anna Leela College. The result of Men team championship is as under,

Sr. No.	Name of the College	Position
1	R. A. Podar College	I
2	H. R. College	II
3	Thakur College of Engg.	III
4	A. Vartak College	IV
5	Dnyanasadhana College	V
6	D. G. Ruparel College	VI
7	SIES (Nerul) A.S.C.	VII
8	S.P.C.E.	VIII

The Prize distribution for Inter-Collegiate Inter-Zonal Chess Men Competition was held on 3<sup>rd</sup> August, 2017. The Prizes were given by the hands of Shri SajjanDas Joshi (Fide Master and National Chess player) grace the occasion of Principal Prashant Shinde I/C Principal, Dr. Krishna Shetty, Director U.K.S. College and Ms. Sanyogita Morarji, Principal R.P.H. College.

Sr. No.	Name of the College	Position
1	R. A. Podar College	I
2	H. R. College	II
3	Thakur College of Engg.	III
4	A. Vartak College	IV
5	Dnyanasadhana College	V
6	D. G. Ruparel College	VI
7	SIES (Nerul) A.S.C.	VII
8	S.P.C.E.	VIII

Inter-Collegiate Women's Individual Chess Championship was conducted at Anna Leela College of Comm. & Eco., Kurla from 01/08/2017 onwards. Total 72 Colleges and 127 women's Chess players participated. The Prizes was given by the hands of Shri SajjanDas Joshi, Fide Master and National Chess player; in the presence Prashant Shinde I/C Principal, Dr. Krishna Shetty, Director U.K.S. College and Ms. Sanyogita Morarji, Principal R.P.H. College. The result is as under,

#### Women's Individual Result

Sr. No.	Name of the Student	College Name	Position
1	Deodhar Vrushali	M. L. D. C.	I
2	Soneji Janhavi	H. R.	II
3	Pandit Dhanashree	R. A. Podar	III
4	Namlekar Anjali	K.J. Som.S.&C.	IV
5	Makharia Kinjal	R. A. Podar	V
6	Mangalvedhe Stuti	K.J.Som.Engg.	VI
7	Parab Shivani	K.J. Som.S.&C.	VII
8	Shah Kavya	Kamla Raheja	VIII

Sd/-Organizing Secretary